Financial Information and News Falkland Islands News Network

Financial Information and News

Teaberry Express

Falklands Focus

SAFIN Magazine

Antarctic Sentinel

Your Mental Health Magazine
The Craft of Journalism

Financial Information and News

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Mid-Year Meeting

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) Mid-Year Executive Committee Meetings take place in London, United Kingdom

The Executive Committee of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) Mid-Year Meetings have been held from 27 to 29 April 2016 in London, United Kingdom. The CPA Chairperson, Hon. Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury MP, Speaker of the Parliament of Bangladesh chaired the CPA Executive Committee meetings in London with the Executive Committee Members representing the nine regions of the CPA – Africa; Asia; Australia; British Islands & Mediterranean; Canada; Caribbean, Americas & Atlantic; India; Pacific; and South East Asia.

Executive Committee Members attended various meetings including the Coordinating Committee, Finance Subcommittee and Planning and Review Subcommittee to review the CPA’s Annual Reports, Audited Accounts and Budget Planning and the work of the CPA.

The CPA Vice-Chairperson, Hon. Shirley M. Osborne MLA, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Montserrat and Regional Representative for the Caribbean, Americas and Atlantic Region; the CPA Treasurer, Hon. Request Muntanga MP from Zambia; and the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) Chairperson, Rt Hon. Rebecca Kadaga MP, Speaker of the Parliament of Uganda also attended the meetings.

The Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA), Mr Akbar Khan welcomed the Members of the Executive Committee to the Mid- Year Meeting.

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association connects, develops, promotes and supports Parliamentarians and their staff to identify benchmarks of good governance and the implementation of the enduring values of the Commonwealth.

The Members of the CPA Executive Committee in attendance are:

Hon. Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury MP – CPA Chairperson (Bangladesh); Hon. Shirley M. Osborne MLA, Vice Chairperson (Montserrat); Hon. Request Muntanga MP – CPA Treasurer (Zambia); Rt Hon. Rebecca Kadaga MP – Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) Chairperson (Uganda).

Africa Region: Hon. Thandi Modise MP (South Africa); Hon. Machana Ronald Shamukuni MP (Botswana); Hon. Mutimura Zeno MP (Rwanda); Hon. Themba Msibi MP (Swaziland); Hon. Emilia Monjowa Lifaka MP (Cameroon); Rt Hon. Umar Buba Jibril MP (Nigeria).

Asia Region: Hon. Mian Tariq Mehmood MPA (Punjab, Pakistan); Hon. Imran Ahmad MP (Bangladesh); Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala MP (Sri Lanka).

Australia Region: Hon. Kezia Purick MLA (Northern Territory, Australia); Hon. Russell Paul Wortley MLC (South Australia); Mrs. Vicki Dunne MLA (Australian Capital Territory).

British Islands & Mediterranean Region: Hon. Derek Thomas MLC (St Helena); Rt. Hon Sir Alan Haselhurst MP (United Kingdom); Hon. Carmelo Abela MP (Malta).

Canada Region: Hon. Alexandra Mendes MP (Canada Federal); Hon. George Qulaut MLA (Nunavut, Canada).

Caribbean, Americas & Atlantic Region: Hon. Farrel Smithen (Nevis); Hon. Michael Peyrefitte MP (Belize).

India Region: Dr Charnjit Singh Atwal MLA (Punjab, India); Shri P. P. Chaudhary MP (Lok Sabah, India); Dr Sitasaran Sharma MLA (Madhya Pradesh, India).

Pacific Region: Mr Paul Foster-Bell MP (New Zealand); Hon. Tutai Tura MP (Cook Islands); Mr Nafoitoa Talaimanu Keti MP (Samoa).

South East Asia Region: Hon. Datuk S. K. Devamany MP (Perak, Malaysia); Mr Lim Biow Chuan MP (Singapore); Hon. Dato' Noraini Ahmad MP (Malaysia).

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA), now in its 105th year with HM The Queen, Head of the Commonwealth as its Patron, exists to develop, promote and support Parliamentarians and their staff to identify benchmarks of good governance and to implement the enduring values of the Commonwealth.

The CPA is an international community of around 180 Commonwealth Parliaments and Legislatures working together to deepen the Commonwealth’s commitment to the highest standards of democratic governance.

Parliaments, their Members and officials learn from each other through CPA activities: Annual Commonwealth Parliamentary Conferences, Regional Conferences and other symposiums; Inter-parliamentary visits; Parliamentary Seminars and Workshops; Publications including The Parliamentarian, the Journal of Commonwealth Parliaments; and the Parliamentary Information and Reference Centre.

Visit for further information.

Images are available via Join the conversation: Twitter @CPA_Secretariat | | Online For further information, please contact:

Jeffrey Hyland, Editor, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association T: +44 (0)20 7799 1460 (switchboard) | T: +44 (0)20 7227 1696 (direct) | E:

Useful Links